Aside

but on the third day…..He rose again!

Yesterday we celebrated the resurrection of Jesus Christ.  Our church decided to celebrate by showcasing the various artistic talents within our community.  These are the paintings I made for this service along with a little written reflection on the meaning of the resurrection for me.  Christ is risen, Hallelujah!

Making this body of art brought such a joy to my life. I believe that is the message of Easter at the core: everlasting joy. Easter is a reminder of the pain (the grit-sweat-tears-blood) shed by Jesus on the cross, as well as the cleansing, pure, sweet resurrection that followed. It is the emergence of light that shines and can never be overcome by darkness. Never has there ever been a greater act of love-than self-sacrif My art generally displays a combination of colors and textures that are inspired by a feeling or particular message-often including text. My intent with these paintings is to capture the energy and passion of the spirit of this gift we’ve been given. I feel lightness and sense of hope looking at them and my prayer is that weather through the words or the combination of materials I’ve used, others would see Jesus and be reminded that on the third day, He rose again. Hallelujah! 

Image

We receive this encouragement from the Gospel of John 16: 20,22 as Jesus addresses and assures his disciples: “Truly I say to you, that you will weep and lament, but the world will rejoice; you will be sorrowful but your sorrow will be turned to joy…Therefore you too now have sorrow, but I will see you again and your heart will rejoice and no one will take your joy away from you.” …and verse 33-the message of hope for us to hold tight to and live by: “In the world you have tribulation, but take courage: I have overcome the world”

 
Image





Leave a Reply

